

AITKIN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

December 19, 2023 9:00 a.m. Government Center Board Room

Regular Session Minutes

1.A CALL TO ORDER

Chair Wedel called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Attendee Name	Title	Status
J. Mark Wedel	District #1	Present
Laurie Westerlund	District #2	Present
Travis Leiviska	District #3	Present
Bret Sample	District #4	Present
Michael Kearney	District #5	Present
Jessica Seibert	County Administrator	Present
April Kellerman	Administrative Assistant	Present

1.B PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

1.C APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion Approve the agenda, as amended.

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample
SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney

Added Item 7F

- 1.D Health & Human Services (see separate HHS Agenda)
- 1.E Citizens Public Comment None

2 CONSENT AGENDA

Motion Approve the Consent Agenda.

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund
SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample

A) Correspondence File-

December 12, 2023 - December 18, 2023

B) Approve County Board Minutes-

December 12, 2023

C) Approve Electronic Funds Transfers

Total \$243,374.88

D) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

Manual Warrants 12-07-23

General \$1,406.85	State \$89,558.76	Taxes \$1,526.32	LLCC	\$41.45
			Total	\$92,533.38

E) Adopt Resolution-

LG220 Application for Exempt Gambling - Ducks Unlimited Garrison Wildlife

F) Adopt Resolution-

Reaffirm Change Funds

G) Adopt Resolution-

Electronic Funds Transfers

H) Adopt Resolution-

County Liquor Licenses 2024

I) Approve County Board Minutes-

COW 12-08-23

J) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Sales/Use and Diesel Tax, November 2023

General \$194.14	R&B \$592.94	Trust \$29.59	LLCC	\$141.71
Parks \$49.48		1 3	Total	\$1,007.86

K) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Property Tax Overpays 12-15-23

1 2			
General \$19.44	Taxes&Penalties \$4,454.46	Total	\$4,473.90

L) Adopt Resolution-

County On, Off and Sunday Sale Liquor License - Red Rock Bar & Grill

M) Adopt Resolution-

Appointment of Mail and Absentee Ballot Board

N) Approve-

Approve Job Re-evaluation (Child Support Specialist)

Regular Agenda

3A John Welle - County Engineer

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - Award Contract 20241

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Michael Kearney
SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample

3B John Welle - County Engineer

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - Award Contract 20242

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

3C John Welle – County Engineer

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - Award Contract 20243

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Michael Kearney SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

4A Jim Bright – Facilities Coordinator

Motion to:

Approve Boiler/Chiller Replacement

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

5A Andrew Carlstrom – Environmental Services Director

Motion to:

Approve Expansion of McGregor Recycling Center

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney

6A Mike Dangers – County Assessor

Motion to:

Approve Individual Disaster Abatement and Credit - Parcel 24-1-085200

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample
SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

7A Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - 2024 Elected Officails Salaries

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample
SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

7B Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - 2024 Commissioners Salaries

RESULT: APPROVED (3 TO 2)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Roll Call Vote - Commissioner Sample & Commissioner Kearney voted No

7C Jessica Seibert - County Administrator

Motion to:

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Michael Kearney
SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

2024 Budget

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

2024 Levy

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney

2024 Appropriations

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample

SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Fund Transfers 2024 Budget

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney

2023 Reserve Funds

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney

Fund Transfer to Long Lake Conservation Center

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska
SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

Fund Transfer to Support Survey/GIS

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney

2024 Boat & Water Safety Agreement Budget

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

2024 ECRL Levy

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample
SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney

2024 Unorganized Townships

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

2024 ACSW and Snake River Watershed Appropriations

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample

SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

2023 Ditch Fund Budgets

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund
SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney
2024 Non-Levy Budgets

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Michael Kearney
SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

County Ditch and County Development Transfers

Approve 2024 Budget Resolutions

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Michael Kearney SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Unorganized Road & Bridge Transfers

D Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

Motion to:

Approve 5-Year Capital Plan

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

7E Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

Informational Only Administrator Updates

MACA Executive Committee, Chat GPT

8A Board of Commissioners

Informational Only

Board of Commissioners Committees

Lakes & Pines, Planning Commission, Brainerd 1 Watershed 1 Plan

9A Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

Motion to Close Meeting Under MN Statute 13D.03 Subd.1(b) Labor Negotiations

Motion made at 11: 09 a.m.

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample
SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Motion to Reopen Meeting

Motion made at 12:21 p.m.

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Motion to Adjourn

Motion made at 12:21 p.m.

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample
SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska
Next Meeting: Tuesday, January 2, 2024

J Mark Wedel, Board Chair

Aitkin County Board of Commissioner

Jessida Seibert

County Administrator